BBC announces new head anchor for election coverage

By MixDex Article may include affiliate links

BBC News has announced its 2019 election coverage team.

  • For the first time, Huw Edwards will lead the network’s coverage.
  • A longtime journalist, Edwards has been part of the network’s election coverage in the past.
  • BBC also announced it will kickoff coverage leading up to the election from around the country.
  • Reeta Chakrabarti, Andrew Neil, Tina Daheley and Jeremy Vine will join Edwards on election night.
  • Political Editor Laura Kuenssberg, Europe Editor Katya Adler, Economics Editor Faisal Islam and Media Editor Amol Rajan, alongside Professor Sir John Curtice will also provide insight and analysis.
  • Sarah Smith and Kirsty Wark will report from Scotland while Sophie Raworth will use a giant map to showcase results.
  • BBC is also planning on projecting resuilts on the side of Old Broadcasting House.
  • It will also being introducing “semi-automated” journalism to write stories on election results. Coverage will include 650 constituencies with stories written in English and 40 in Welsh.