ABC News Live expanding into daytime hours

ABC is expanding its streaming news channel with the addition of original dayside programming, according to a memo its Senior Executive Producer Justin Dial sent Friday, July 24, 2020.

On Monday, July 27, 2020, the network will add “ABC News Live Update” at 9 a.m. eastern.

The segment will run about 15 minutes and will be anchored by Diane Macedo, who will also continue anchoring other programming.

In the “coming weeks,” ABC News will add additional updates at 11 a.m., noon and 3 p.m. eastern.

ABC News Live already offers live breaking news coverage and a rolling feed during the day as well as original programming in the evening.

Plans call for the 9 a.m. block to incorporate expanded content from “Good Morning America” while the future noon one will introduce a “Group Chat” format featuring ABC journalists, panelists and experts discussing the news of the day.

Meanwhile, the 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. updates will focus on the latest headlines.

ABC says viewership of the streaming channel is up 142% year over year since January 2020, with over 20 million viewers tuning in every month. Combined, viewers stream about 4.5 million hours each week.

To support the new programming, the network is adding a “handful” of new jobs.

Below is the full text of the memo.

All,

I am excited to let you know that ABC News Live is taking another exciting step forward as we expand our streaming channel’s original programming into Daytime. On Monday we will begin to roll out “ABC News Live Update” starting at 9am ET/6am PT, and will add an 11am ET/8am PT, 12pm ET/9am PT and 3pm ET/12pm PT “Update” in the weeks ahead. I’m also proud to say the brilliant Diane Macedo will continue her fantastic work with ABC News Live and anchor “ABC News Live Update.”

Led by Executive Producer David Hatcher, “ABC News Live Update” and Diane will bring streaming viewers the latest headlines, compelling stories, interviews and roundtable discussions in 15 minutes or less each weekday with elements of social media blended into the reporting. While we will evolve these news briefs over time, the 9am ET “Update” will include international and business news and expanded reporting from GMA and our global network of correspondents; the 11am and 3pm ET “Update” will provide the latest headlines; and the 12pm ET “Update” will feature a segment we’re calling “Group Chat” where we’ll bring together a roundtable of ABC News contributors, experts, journalists and individuals to discuss issues being debated in the news.

Also as we advance into Daytime, we will be in position to provide live breaking news coverage and continue to partner with Marc Burstein and the Special Events team when special coverage airs on the Network. Our teams have already worked together seamlessly, as we saw with the recent Supreme Court rulings and coverage of the George Floyd protests, memorial and funeral.

There has been sky high interest in ABC News Live the first half of this year. Since January 2020, 20 million viewers have tuned-in monthly, an increase of +142% year-over-year; viewers stream over 4.5 million hours each week, a figure that has continued to grow; and to date we’re on 16 distributed platforms including Hulu, The Roku Channel, Amazon TV, YouTube and Facebook with more to come this year. I’m excited to see David, Diane and the team charge ahead and work with all of you to bring your stories to even more viewers.

I am happy to say ABC News Live continues to grow. We have a handful of new positions posted. Check out the Disney career site for the new roles: www.disneycareers.com, (search for ABC News to find those opportunities). Apply if you’re interested and/or pass along to the smartest people you know in TV News!

Justin